Lusting after men again

I read another blog post about giving your muse a name, and I realized my muse has several names, each belonging to a distinct personality. Hmm…what does that say about me? Anyway, he’s based on a real person (yes, he’s male) and several fictional characters.

The one who visits me most is an artist like me. He’s sensitive (I hate using that word to describe a man, but it fits him), he’s quiet (not shy, he just doesn’t talk unless he has something to say), and he has a naughty streak in bed.  He understands me and indulges me, but he knows when I need a kick in the ass. He inspired Will in my new short story series.

Another frequent visitor is also an artist, a storyteller. He loves drinking and he loves women. He’s a little bit cowboy, a little bit rock star, a little bit All-American quarterback. He’s a bad, bad boy, not boyfriend or husband material by any stretch of the imagination. He inspired Austin Sinclair.

The man who inspired Jack Wheeler has a tragic past—I think. I’m still learning about him. That’s why he’s so appealing. He’s constantly surprising me. He’s dangerous, but he has a really big…heart, and I think that surprises him too. He has long hair like Jack’s. I melt just looking at him.

And then there’s the guy who inspired Alex (also from my new short stories). He’s very complicated.  He’s not just bad—he’s evil. He’s the man I summon when I want to write dark. But he’s conflicted. He’ll do good things, but for the wrong reason. When he’s given a chance for redemption, he doesn’t take it. He scares me and I don’t trust him, but that’s why I keep coming back to him. He challenges me and makes me do bad things—and like it. (Note to self: Give Alex his own book.)

There are more men in my head, but I’m still learning about them. Maybe someday they’ll have their own stories.

Writers: does your muse have a name? Is your muse the opposite sex or the same?

About ameliajamesauthor

Amelia James started reading steamy romance novels in junior high, but her mom took them away from her, so she started daydreaming instead. After she got married, she wrote some of her naughtier daydreams down and sent them to Playgirl magazine. Two of them got published. She kept daydreaming and writing stories until her dirty stories turned into trashy books. She lives in Colorado, but she’ll always be a loyal Wisconsin Cheesehead. When she’s not lusting after her next bad boy hero, she looks for inspiration in sci-fi and action movies, football players, bloodsucking lawyers, muscle cars, and kick-butt chicks.
This entry was posted in Random Weirdness, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lusting after men again

  1. Carissa Elg says:

    This is so the week for muses. I think they’re trying to get our attention! I loved reading about yours! Very cool!

  2. Spooky Sean says:

    I’ll be interested to read more about Alex.
    Lately, my muse has been a man I have yet to name. Well, okay, I wrote a name for him on a note, but I lost the note. So, back to picking a name from scratch! This guy is to be the narrator of my short story collection. Lately, job stress has been getting in the way of my writing, but I’m just going to write, regardless.
    It must be from my love of Tales From the Crypt, and horror anthology shows.

    • Alex was inspired by a guy from a paranormal TV series. He’s human, but he’s more evil than some of the monsters. He’s my favorite villain. Hope you get past the job stress soon. Have fun writing!

  3. lnlyNDcwgrl says:

    Mine is like yours, the cowboy/rockstar/quarterback type and rockin hot! I loved writing about his character, he almost felt real!

  4. I’ll have to give this some thought. I if I have muse it is still subconscious. I Was definitely entertained by your listing. I am too new at this I guess, I am sure the ideas come from somewhere I just never really thought about where. Hmmm….

Leave a Reply

