Writing forbidden topics – How Trashy popped her cherry

There are stories behind each of my books, reasons why my lusty fantasies made it out of my head and into readers’ hands. I started writing short stories in the third grade, continuing on and off through college. After I got married and learned to think for myself, I started writing sex stories. The Devil Made Me Do It is a collection I wrote while exploring my sexuality, opening my mind to new ideas and new experiences. I lost my erotica virginity to Devil. And it was gooood.

Writing my first romance novel was a spontaneous hookup. I’d found a new muse who inspired me to write romance when I’d almost given it up. After writing several short stories about him as a brooding, tormented hero, I decided to write him as a fun, playful bad boy. But Austin and Jane’s story couldn’t be told quickly, so I let them take me where they needed to go. Tell Me You Want Me popped my novel cherry.

I wrote Secret Storm because I fell in love with Austin’s best friend, Jack. He’s a tormented hero, and I needed to find out why he was hurting and give him someone to help him heal. Secret was written as a novel from the start, and it’s still my favorite romance. I’d resisted writing drama until I met Jack. He pushed my boundaries and showed me the pleasure in darkness.

Like most of my other books, Her Twisted Pleasures started out as fantasy turned short story with a definite beginning, middle, and end. But my fantasies didn’t end with one story, and as I played ‘what if’ with the forbidden subject, I couldn’t resist its appeal. More stories with the same three characters and the same twisted plots collected on my hard drive. I never planned to publish them, but after I finished Secret Storm, I wanted to keep writing novels. I developed several ideas, but none of them called to me like my twisted stories. By the time I decided to write them as a collection, I had five or six finished and plans for half a dozen more.

I wrote Her Twisted Pleasures because… I have no idea. The subject matter is something I usually object to in erotic writing and in real life. One of the reasons I write erotica is to explore and deal with questionable topics. Usually after I write a fantasy it loses its appeal to me, but Twisted is in final editing, and I’m still coming (pun intended) back for more. (Damn you, Alex! And Will.) Lure of the forbidden? You’ll have to read it and find out. ;) Release day is August 15!

What forbidden subjects do you like to read or write about? What’s the appeal?

About ameliajamesauthor

Amelia James started reading steamy romance novels in junior high, but her mom took them away from her, so she started daydreaming instead. After she got married, she wrote some of her naughtier daydreams down and sent them to Playgirl magazine. Two of them got published. She kept daydreaming and writing stories until her dirty stories turned into trashy books. She lives in Colorado, but she’ll always be a loyal Wisconsin Cheesehead. When she’s not lusting after her next bad boy hero, she looks for inspiration in sci-fi and action movies, football players, bloodsucking lawyers, muscle cars, and kick-butt chicks.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing forbidden topics – How Trashy popped her cherry

  1. Sammi Washborne says:

    Does writing about objectification and robots/gynoids count as Forbidden? I honestly don’t know the appeal? Maybe that once you’re a programmed robot you can’t not follow through with what your Dominant asks? ~blush~

    • Ooo what an interesting concept. Can’t say no. Nice. ;)

      • Sammi Washborne says:

        Yeah… You can blame Second Life for my exposure to more kinks, fetishes and perversions than were imaginable. Some of them even turned into, like, real kinks for me, some I’m not even sure I should hint at in a public form. Though I write about the robots so I guess that one’s safe to out myself with.

        There’s something kinda empowering about playing in a virtual sandbox where anything and everything is possible and 100% free of physical consequence (emotional and spiritual being separate)

Leave a Reply

