Celebrating Community through Diversity #CCEID

Today’s event is about community togetherness. What does it mean to you?

I’ve been a member of a lot of different communities: the small town I grew up in, my extended family and friends—all people just like me. But the communities I enjoy the most and learn the most from are the groups with diverse members.

I love different. I love variety. My favorite scene from Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves is when a little English peasant girl approaches Morgan Freeman, the Moorish enemy, and says, “Why did God paint you?”

“Because Allah loves wondrous variety.”

Yes.

Four years ago, my husband and I decided to adopt a child. We’d tried to conceive for 15 year, but no luck. We filled out our family profile, describing the kind of child we wished for. When we were asked to select a race, we chose to be open to any. We wanted a family, and it wasn’t important that our child look just like us. After a year and a half on the waiting list, our caseworker called and said they’d matched us to an African-American baby girl. We met her two days later and fell in love instantly. She’s the most beautiful child I’ve ever seen.

So to me, community togetherness means embracing diversity, and discovering that inside we’re more similar than we look.

About ameliajamesauthor

Amelia James started reading steamy romance novels in junior high, but her mom took them away from her, so she started daydreaming instead. After she got married, she wrote some of her naughtier daydreams down and sent them to Playgirl magazine. Two of them got published. She kept daydreaming and writing stories until her dirty stories turned into trashy books. She lives in Colorado, but she’ll always be a loyal Wisconsin Cheesehead. When she’s not lusting after her next bad boy hero, she looks for inspiration in sci-fi and action movies, football players, bloodsucking lawyers, muscle cars, and kick-butt chicks.
This entry was posted in Just Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Celebrating Community through Diversity #CCEID

  1. smreine says:

    And what a beautiful little girl she is. :) That picture made me aww out loud, seriously. Look at the pudgy wrist rolls! Look at them! I could just eat her up. (But I won’t.) She’s two now, right?

  2. Oh! Your post is so beautiful! I’m so glad you and your daughter found the family you were meant to have :)

    “Because Allah loves wondrous variety.” is a perfect quote!

  3. kdrose1 says:

    Beautiful post and picture!

  4. “Because Allah loves wondrous variety.”. Great line, great point, and so true. It’s one of the reasons I love living in this “melting pot” of a country.
    Reminds me of a little boy I used to babysit as a teenager. He said, “My daddy’s white, my mommy’s brown and I’m beige.”
    Love and diversity is what keeps this world interesting.

  5. Pingback: My Favorite Photos & Story Behind them- Celebrate Community (#CCEID) -Cabin Goddess

  6. Pingback: My Snoopy Dance - Happiness Shared- Celebrate Community (#CCEID -Cabin Goddess

  7. kendallgrey says:

    LOVE everything about this post. And your daughter is BEAUTIFUL. I want to see a two-year-old pic of her!

Leave a Reply

